January 28, 2021 /

DETAIL Prize 2020 Award Ceremony

Achim Menges (ICD), Jan Knippers (ITKE)


DETAIL Prize 2020 Award Ceremony on 28 January 2021 at 5-7 pm (CET)

We are looking forward to presenting the BUGA Fibre Pavillon amongst the winning projects at this public online event.

The Jury's statement on the prize:
“This pavilion impressively demonstrates the important rôle that universities can play as research sites for architecture. Based on advanced material technology and digital production methods, this structure was developed in close interdisciplinary cooperation between architects, structural engineers and various industrial companies. Its actual construction, however, was preceded by years of research and development work - the intensity of which is probably only possible in a university context. The elegance and lightness of the resulting space is reminiscent of the experimental designs of both Cedric Price and Buckminster Fuller, while its highly optimised, expressive structure is testimony to the age-old insight that new building materials may also suggest new forms of architectural expression.”


Thursday, 28 January 2021, 5-7 pm (CET)

5:00 pm: Introduction, Sandra Hofmeister (DETAIL)
5:05 pm: Key speech, Louisa Hutton (Sauerbruch Hutton, Chair of the jury)
5:20 pm: Jacob van Rijs (MVRDV) and bureau SLA & Overtreders W: Peter van Assche, Reinder Bakker and Hester van Dijk
5:40 pm: Kim H. Nielsen (3XN) and ALA Architects: Antti Nousjoki, Juho Grönholm and Samuli Woolston
6:00 pm: Anna Ramos (Mies van der Rohe Foundation) and ICD/ITKE University Stuttgart: Achim Menges and Jan Knippers
6:20 pm: Jakob Schoof (DETAIL) and McCullough Mulvin Architects: Valerie Mulvin and Ruth O’Herlihy
6:40 pm: Closing words
6:45-7:00 pm: Networking Area






To the top of the page