This image shows Katherine Kuchenbecker

Katherine Kuchenbecker


Principal Investigator
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems
Cluster of Excellence IntCDC


Heisenbergstr. 3
70569 Stuttgart

  • Since 2016 Director, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Stuttgart, Germany. Part time from June 15, 2016, and full time from January 1, 2017
  • Since 2017 Spokesperson, International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems (IMPRS-IS), a joint Ph.D. programme between Uni. Stuttgart, Uni. Tübingen, and MPI-IS
  • 2015 – 2016 Class of 1940 Bicentennial Endowed Term Chair, University of Pennsylvania,
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
  • Since 2013 Associate Professor (with tenure), Department of Mechanical Engineering and
  • Applied Mechanics (MEAM), U. of Pennsylvania. On leave since January 1, 2017. Secondary Appointment, Department of Computer and Information Science, from 2013. Member, Electri- cal and Systems Engineering Graduate Group, from 2015. Member, Bioengineering Graduate Group, from 2010
  • 2013 – 2016 Undergraduate Curriculum Chair, MEAM Dept., U. of Pennsylvania
  • 2007 – 2013 Skirkanich Assistant Prof. of Innovation, MEAM Dept., U. of Pennsylvania
  • 2006 – 2007 Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, Advisor: Allison M. Okamura, Ph.D

Qualification Indicators

  • Selected Keynote Talks: Robotics: Science and Systems (RSS 2018); IEEE Virtual Reality (VR 2018); Vision Sciences Society (VSS 2017); Royal Society Conf. on Robotics and Au- tonomous Systems (2015); American Society of Hand Therapists (2014); TEDYouth (2012).
  • Selected Awards: TCPW Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising, University of Pennsylvania (2015); Best Poster (with co-author), IROS Workshop on Sensorimotor Con- trol in Surgical Robotics (2014); Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, University of Pennsylvania (2014); Best Demonstration Award (with co-authors), SIGGRAPH Asia (2013); Best Paper Silver Award (with co-authors), Advances in Computer Entertainment (2013); Best Cognitive Robotics Paper Award (with co-authors), IEEE ICRA (2013); Best Demon- stration (with co-authors), IEEE World Haptics Conference (2013); IEEE Robotics and Auto- mation Society Academic Early Career Award (2012); Popular Science Brilliant 10 (2010); National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2009); National Science Foundation Gradu- ate Research Fellowship (2000-2003); #1 Graduate in Stanford Engineering (2000).
  • Professional Leadership: Co-Chair of IEEE Haptics Symposium (2016 and 2018). Co- chair of the IEEE RAS Technical Committee on Haptics (2015-2017).
  • Equal Opportunity Commission
To the top of the page